• New Government Department for Employment Policy & Regulation

    The Prime Minister announced on 7th February the creation of four new government departments:

    A new Department for Energy Security and Net Zero, has been tasked with securing the UK’s long-term energy supply, lowering energy bills and halving inflation.

    A re-focused Department for Culture, Media and Sport will recognise the importance of these industries to the UK’s economy.

    A dedicated Department for Science, Innovation and Technology will drive the innovation that will deliver improved public services, create new and better-paid jobs and grow the economy. 

    The Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (BEIS) will be split up, involving the creation of a new Department for Business and Trade (DBT).

    The DBT will “support growth by backing British businesses at home and abroad, promoting investment and championing free trade”. 

    Although little is yet known about the detail, it appears that employment policy and regulation will now be overseen by the new DBT.

    The new Secretary of State for Business and Trade will be Kemi Badenoch MP. She will also remain as President of the Board of Trade and Minister for Women and Equalities.

    Share this article

    Leave a comment